Right Round

Tuesday, October 9th, 2012

Right Round
Part 5 of more

It was snowing softly. The snowflakes were so beautiful. They fell with grace, a kind of grace, which my eyes were not accustomed to seeing much. It appeared as if they were dancing to a melody only they could hear. One after another they would land on the windshield of my rental car. I tried to count them, but even this could not keep my mind distracted.

Really? I must have repeated that single word a hundred times. What was she thinking? Or was she thinking at all? My thoughts were unclear. I tried in vain to rationalize what just happened, but the only rationale I could generate was, really? I drove quickly. Too fast for someone as inexperienced as I am driving in snow, real snow. I didn’t care. I grabbed my phone and dialed.

“Thank you for calling American Express Air, how may I help you?” a subtle female voice spoke.

“Yes ma’am, I have a quick question for you that you might be able to help me with.” I answered.

“Ok, sure no problem. Go ahead sir.”

“I am scheduled to fly out on the day after tomorrow and I was wondering if there is any way I could catch an earlier flight. Hopefully tomorrow some time?” I asked.

“Sure, let me check for you real quick. What is your flight number?”

This phone conversation was great. It provided me with a distraction, however short or small from the painful realization that my girlfriend was cheating on me. The lady from the airline was super helpful. My flight was rescheduled to tomorrow afternoon. A much needed feeling of relief coursed through my body.

I searched my GPS for a hotel close by the airport. There were several within a short distance. I fixed my eyes on the road while I gripped my steering wheel tightly. Really, really? My phone vibrated on the seat next to me. I let it ring, ring, and ring. It was Tiffany calling and texting me.

I pulled into a Hotel’s parking light. Thankful for the bright sign that signaled its location, which cut through the now heavy snow fall. I shut the engine off. I leaned back in my seat with my eyes closed. Really, really? I took a deep breath and opened my eyes. I started to count. I couldn’t keep up. I continued to count.
JMD

Your Thoughts Here

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

TIPPR Blog

A blog of original content and reviews

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

Hockey Writing from Liz Bell

Hockey, Writing....

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

weaklyshortstories

Just another WordPress.com site

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

RidicuRyder

Dual Purpose, Dual Personalities Sporting Duality With Motorcycle Therapy & Entertainment

dedicatedtothebest

This WordPress.com site is full of potential

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

mentalnotes1

POETRY, RANDOM THOUGHTS AND STUFF LIKE THAT....

j.r. lambert

A writer of speculative fiction.

tvwellmaker

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

