Haiku or Fancy Looking Quote?

Wednesday, August 1st, 2012

Hello All!

It has been a long time since I thought about writing a Haiku, just doesn’t seem like my thing.

But today for some reason the urge struck me to write one. I googled Haiku to refresh my memory on the technique and well lets say there was like fifty different explanations on writing one (or at least it seemed that way).

I won’t give you my opinion on how a Haiku should be structured. But, I will ask this, doesn’t it seem like a Haiku is just a fancy looking quote? Maybe I am just wondering that because mine favors a quote I guess, idk.

Anyway, I digress. Here is my Haiku.

All my life I slept

under the apple filled tree

scared to take one down.

I am thinking there may be more Haiku poems in my future.

2 comments on “Haiku or Fancy Looking Quote?

  1. Your haiku…it’s wonderful!

    I picked up a haiku book from my library a few months ago. I was enamored at first. But then I read on, and it seemed like each haiku was the same—incomprehensible and nature-like.

    Yours is nature-like, but certainly comprehensible. It speaks volumes. Within those seventeen syllables, I see a complete story.

    • jmd5717 says:

      Thanks, I actually wrote that a long time ago, but it has stuck with me ever since. I don’t write many haiku’s because I believe by nature its strict structure limits the artistic value of the actual piece.

Your Thoughts Here

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

TIPPR Blog

A blog of original content and reviews

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

Immature Fruit

Poetry, Travels, Sketches, Writings and a Sip of Inspiration with Passion.

Hockey Writing from Liz Bell

Hockey, Writing....

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

weaklyshortstories

Just another WordPress.com site

Readers & Writers

Now working for onlinewritingtips.com!

RidicuRyder

Dual Purpose, Dual Personalities Sporting Duality With Motorcycle Therapy & Entertainment

dedicatedtothebest

This WordPress.com site is full of potential

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

mentalnotes1

POETRY, RANDOM THOUGHTS AND STUFF LIKE THAT....

j.r. lambert

A writer of speculative fiction.

tvwellmaker

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Belief Blog

Spreading the Power of Belief

